Toyota Tour champions Galven Green and Daeng Abdul Rahman fired rounds of four-under-par 68 to be the best-placed Malaysians in joint second position following the first round of the Toyota Tour Championship.

Co-sanctioned by the Asian Development Tour, the Malaysian duo currently lies one stroke behind Thailand’s Suttinon Panyo at the final leg of the Toyota Tour.

Starting off the 10th tee on Saujana Golf and Country Club’s Palm Course, Galven was on a hot streak right off the bat with back-to-back birdies on the 10th and 11th, followed by another on the par five 14th before the turn. With one more birdie on the par five third, Galven pulled through a bogey-free round of four-under-par 68.

“I was hitting my shots good throughout the round and was giving myself opportunities out there. I hit a few pretty close and I managed to convert them into birdies,” said the Alphard Cup winner.

Meanwhile, compatriot Daeng Abdul Rahman who was jointly leading the RM350,000 event alongside Thailand’s Suttinon Ponya on five-under-par with one more hole to play, unfortunately dropped a shot after bogeying the 18th.

“I pulled my third shot way left, and just didn’t convert back the par,” said Daeng.

Keeping his head up, Daeng admitted it was a good round nonetheless with a total of six birdies and two bogeys on his card.

“I’m making my putts today even though I have missed a few birdie chances, and ideally I’ll be keeping the same game plan and minimizing mistakes,” noted the Camry Cup winner.

Firing similar rounds of 68s and joining the Malaysian pair in joint second position are Czech Republic’s Gordan Brixi, Khalin Joshi of India, Italian Michele Ortolani, and fellow Thai Witchayapat Sinsrang.

Two shots adrift the lead on three-under-par and rounding up the top ten are Malaysia’s Kemarol Baharin, Swede Oscar Zetterwall, and Witchayanon Chothirunrungrueng of Thailand.

First Round Scores
Top 10 & Ties
67 (-5) Suttinon Panyo
68 (-4) Galven Green, Gordan Brixi, Khalin Joshi, Michele Ortolani, Daeng Rahman, Witchayapat Sinsrang
69 (-3) Oscar Zetterwall, Kemarol Baharin, Witchayanon Chothirunrungrueng

To top